Iowa Hawkeyes men’s basketball

6 أغسطس، 2019 4 Like لا توجد تعليقات


The Iowa Hawkeyes men’s basketball team represents the University of Iowa in Iowa City, Iowa, as a Part of the Big Ten Conference and the National Collegiate Athletic Association.

Coach Fran McCaffery is the head coach, and was because 2010 at Iowa.
The Hawkeyes won eight Big Ten regular-season conference championships, have played in 26 NCAA Tournaments, eight NIT Tournaments and won the Big Ten tournament double. Iowa has played at the Final Four on three events, reaching the semifinals at 1955 and 1980 and playing in the championship match against the University of San Francisco in 1956.
Iowa basketball was widely successful in the 1970s, 1980s, and 1990s using a program resurgence under Lute Olson and the tenures of both George Raveling and Tom Davis. Beneath Olson, the Hawkeyes won their last Big Ten regular season championship and went into the 1980 Final Four.
They play 15,400-seat Carver-Hawkeye Arena, together with Iowa women’s basketball, wrestling, and volleyball clubs.
Prior to playing Carver-Hawkeye Arena, which opened in 1983,[6] that the Hawkeyes played at the Iowa Armory and the Iowa Field House, which is still used today by the institution’s gymnastics teams. Before losing to rival Northern Iowa the Hawkeyes accumulated a school-record 21 wins at home.
Four Iowa coaches have been inducted into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame: Sam Barry, Ralph Miller, Lute Olson and George Raveling.

Read more:


اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

التخطي إلى شريط الأدوات